Ten Inducted as ASABE Fellows

Friday, August 05, 2022
Ten Inducted as ASABE Fellows
Ten individuals of meritorious professional achievement were recently inducted as Fellows of the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE).

The grade of Fellow is the highest honor bestowed by the Society. It honors members of extraordinary accomplishments and contributions to the field of agricultural, food, or biological systems engineering. In addition to meritorious achievement, individuals must have a minimum of 20 years of engineering practice or teaching and 20 years as a member in ASABE. 

The Fellow induction ceremony took place at ASABE's 2022 Annual International Meeting, held in Houston. Complete biographies can be found through the links included below; contact Dolores Landeck for photographs.

Members of the 2022 Class of ASABE Fellows are:

Ashim K. Datta, Professor, Biological and Environmental Engineering, Cornell University
for significant contributions in developing drainage-management practices that minimize the impacts on water quality

Steven R. Evett
, Research Soil Scientist, USDA ARS
for conducting outstanding research in soil and crop sensing, crop-water use, irrigation management, and scientific and agricultural technology applications worldwide

Albert J. Heber, PE
, Professor, Agricultural & Biological Engineering, Purdue University
for outstanding achievements in agricultural odor and air quality, building environment, air system design, and for service to the profession of agricultural and biological engineering

Matt Helmers
, Professor and Director of the Iowa Nutrient Research Center
for significant contributions in developing drainage management practices that minimize the impacts on water quality

Kevin W. King
, Supervisory Agricultural Engineer and Research Leader, USDA-ARS
for distinguished research in advancing the science and management of water quality in tile-drained landscapes

Bradley P. Marks, PE
, Professor and Department Chair, Michigan State University
for outstanding contributions to the profession, in the areas of food safety engineering research, professional leadership, and educational excellence

D. Raj Raman, PE
, Morrill Professor, Iowa State University
for steadfast leadership in developing and overseeing ASABE-related educational programs and in developing and delivering core courses

Kenneth C. Stone, PE
, Research Agricultural Engineer, USDA-ARS
for scrupulously conducting insightful engineering research that significantly improves irrigation while conserving and protecting resources

Keith G. Tinsey, PE
, Director of Operations, Black Gold Farms
for outstanding leadership, mentoring, and engineering accomplishments in the potato industry, and for service to ASABE

Earl Vories, PE
, Research Agricultural Engineer, USDA ARS
for contributions toward improving the efficient use of water in agriculture

ASABE is an international scientific and educational organization dedicated to the advancement of engineering applicable to agricultural, food, and biological systems.