Celebrating Technology Innovation: 2024 AE50 Awards Announced

Wednesday, January 03, 2024
Celebrating Technology Innovation: 2024 AE50 Awards Announced

ASABE and Resource magazine are pleased to announce the winners of the 2024 AE50 Awards, celebrating companies and their technological developments in agricultural, food, and biological systems. 

The winning products represent the diversity of agricultural and biological engineering, as well as the variety of companies that continue to bring advanced technology and exciting innovations to the marketplace. This year’s AE50 recipients join the ranks of many who have been honored for their ingenuity in product development—saving producers time, costs, and labor, while improving user safety.

From the many entries submitted in 2023, an expert panel selected the products for recognition. The award-winning products are those ranked highest in innovation, significant engineering advancement, and impact on the market served.

The  2024 class of AE50 winners will now be reviewed for selection of the 2024 Davidson Prize, presented each year the top three products. This year's Davidson Prizes will be announced at Commodity Classic, being held February 28 – March 2, in Houston.

"I'm always impressed by the breadth and diversity of technology reflected in the AE50 winners," says ASABE Executive Director Darrin Drollinger.  "Full machines and major equipment systems will always be well represented among the AE50; however, every year we see more software and digital solutions propelling agriculture forward." 

Some of those non-machine winners include: 

  • AgIN solution, from the Agricultural Electronics Industry Foundation
  • CABA's DLI Light Detective for greenhouses 
  • The EC-C17008-420 Electric Power Converter, from Danfoss
  • Spectrum Technologies' WatchDog portable wind sensor
  • Berry Impact Recorder by Alpha AgTech LLC

With eight AE50 Awards, CLAAS tops the list of companies with multiple honors. Others include AGCO (five), Case IH (four), and Deere and New Holland (two apiece).

A full list of this year's winning products can be found here.

The AE50 Awards were first presented in June 1984, in a special issue of ASABE’s Agricultural Engineering (now Resource), in which 25 new techniques, inventions, and innovations were showcased. 

ASABE is an international educational organization dedicated to the advancement of engineering applicable to agricultural, food, and biological systems.