Congratulations to the 2022 Competition Winners!

1st Place - University of Arkansas: Nathan Bowman, Juliana Newman, Harrison Davis, Noah Olson
Alternative Stormwater Design for a Residential Development in Rogers, AR

2nd Place - University of Arkansas: Alexis Barber, Ellie Kuhn, Andrew Daniels, Aubin Payne
Low-Impact Development for On-Campus Lot Remediation

3rd Place – Virginia Tech: Nikki Borglin, Andy Steele, Brian Wilson, Kai Lawson
Peters Creek Restoration Design Package

The purpose of the competition is to encourage undergraduate students to participate in the design of a relevant engineering project and to provide an arena of professional competition for environmentally and biologically related design projects. This competition is complementary to the AGCO National Design Competition, which focuses on agricultural and food related projects, while Gunlogson focuses on environmentally and biologically related projects.

The competition consists of two parts: (1) Submission of a design report to be judged by an expert panel, and (2) Participation by the three teams earning the highest report scores in a presentation competition at the ASABE Annual International Meeting. Awards will be based on the overall score, which is a composite of project, written, and oral scores. 

Awards will be presented at the ASABE Annual International Meeting awards program. Cash awards of $1,250, $1,000 and $750 will be presented to the first, second and third place entries.

All entries must be submitted to by May 15th.

2023 Competition Rules & Regulations   Entry Form

Past Winners
2021: Virginia Tech
2020: University of Arkansas
2019: University of Tennessee-Knoxville
2018: North Carolina State University
2017: University of Tennessee - Knoxville
2016: University of Kentucky
2015: University of Tennessee, Kansas State University
2014: University of Tennessee
2013: University of Arkansas
2012: University of Tennessee
2011: Michigan State University
2010: University of Tennessee
2009: McGill University
2008: University of Wisconsin