Funding for this award will expire after 2024 unless a new funding source is identified. A group of dedicated food engineers have undertaken a fundraising effort to see that it continues. Click here to see how you can help with this campaign.



Ngadi, Michael638266835368199152


 2023 Recipient
Michael O. Ngadi, PE

Past Recipients

Honors and recognizes food engineering professionals from all parts of the world, who have made significant engineering contributions in research, development or design of food processes significant to the food industry; and in outstanding leadership, management or education to advance the food engineering profession. The award comes with a US$1,000 cash prize, travel expense reimbursement up to US$1,400 to receive the award at the ASABE Annual International Meeting, and a plaque.

Eligibility: The recipient is not required to be an ASABE member. The nominees will be judged on their contributions to food engineering. The principal criteria to be used for selecting the award recipient are the significance by which the contributions:

  • Advanced the application of engineering technology through research, development or design of food processes
  • Developed new machines, processes or methods for use by the food industry.
  • Showed outstanding professional and management leadership in applying food engineering within the food industry.
  • Exhibited a strong successful history of educating professionals for the food engineering profession.

Nomination Instructions: Please view this document in order to find the materials required for a nomination. All required award nomination materials must be submitted on the Major Awards Nominations website by October 31st, linked on the right side of this page.

Award Committee Bylaws