M-154 Last Revisions – 08/24/2011 & 9/2014 & 10/2017 M-102 Approval – 08/29/2011 & Proposed changes – 10/11/2017

M-154 INTERNATIONAL FOOD ENGINEERING AWARD COMMITTEE BYLAWS

1. PURPOSE, SCOPE

- 1.1 Purpose: The committee receives nominations for and selects recipients of the "International Food Engineering Award" to honor and recognize food engineering professionals from all parts of the world, who have made significant engineering contributions in research, development or design of food processes significant to the food industry; and in outstanding leadership, management or education to advance the food engineering profession.
- 1.2 Scope: The award shall be presented annually. Recipient will be recognized at the ASABE Annual International Meeting. ASABE will work with the award recipient to arrange for recognition at the meeting of the professional organization of their choice. In addition, if possible, recent awardees will be recognized during a meeting of the International Congress of Engineering and Food (ICEF).

2. NOMINATIONS FOR THE AWARD

Nominations must be submitted by completing the Nomination Form available from ASABE by the published deadline. The M-154 committee may solicit nomination of worthy candidates, and committee members should not serve as the nominator for nor endorse a candidate. Each nominee, if not selected the first year of consideration, will be considered for up to two additional years. Any nominator within their three years of candidate eligibility may submit a one page nomination update each year to the committee. Questions concerning eligibility of a re-nomination shall be decided by two-thirds vote of the M-154 committee.

3. M-154 AWARD COMMITTEE OFFICERS, THEIR DUTIES, TERMS OF OFFICE

4.1 <u>Chair:</u> The Chair shall be the Past Chair of the Processing Systems (PRS) Technical Community. The Chair will provide instructions to the committee, collect and tally their votes, and inform the committee of the decision. The Chair will serve a one-year term.

4.2 <u>Vice Chair</u>: The Vice Chair will be the current Chair of PRS Technical Community and will serve a one-year term. The Vice Chair will handle the duties of the Chair in his/her absence.

4.3 <u>Past Chair</u>: The Past Chair will provide nominations for new committee members and will and obtain approval of appointments by the committee. The Past Chair serves for one year.

4. <u>M-154 AWARD COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP</u>

The committee membership is comprised of the Chair, Vice Chair, Past Chair and up to six additional members. Three (3) committee members should be past Award recipients and three (3) shall be members-at-large selected from ASABE members. At-large members should represent ASABE members from industry/university/and government active in the PRS community. Award recipient committee members are not required to be ASABE members. These members will serve a three-year term. The terms are staggered so that two new members are selected each year. The Chair, Vice Chair, and Past Chair, by virtue of their progression through the officers from Vice Chair to Chair to Past Chair, will serve a three-year term.

5. AMENDMENTS TO THE BY-LAWS

These by-laws may be amended by a two-thirds vote of the membership, and with final approval by M-102 Awards Coordinating Committee.

6. VOTING

The Chair may collect votes from the committee using any communications method (voice, FAX, e-mail, etc.).

C: M-154 Bylaws