Past President & Fellow Norm Scott (second from left) stands ready to award the winners, while BSGRA committee chair Kaushlendra Singh (far right) looks on.

2018 Winners

PhD Category
1st Place
Ryan Kalinoski, University of Kentucky, Hydrogels Derived from Lignocellulosic Compounts: Evaluation of the Compositional, Structural, Mechanical and Antimicrobial Properties

2nd Place
Wenqi Li, University of Kentucky, Performance of Lignin-Derived Activated Carbons for Supercapicators: Effect of the Structure and Composition of Lignin Precursors

3rd Place
Meetpal Singh Kukal, University of Nebraska - Lincoln, Climate-Driven Crop Yield Variability and Climate Change Impacts on the U.S. Great Plains Agricultural Production

MS Category
1st Place
Kapil Khanal, Washington State University, Raspberry Primocaned Bundling and Taping Mechanisms

2nd Place
Kritika Malhotra, Auburn University, Sediment Fingerprinting to Identify Sources of In-Stream Sediment in an Urbanized Watershed

3rd Place
Sunho Park, Chonnam National University, Development of Eggshell Membrane-Based Nanoengineered Platforms

Past Winners

The Competition
The Boyd-Scott Graduate Research Award is to recognize excellence in the conduct and presentation of research to build the knowledge base needed by engineers who design equipment, facilities, and processes for the sustainable operation of a biological system.

Contestants are required to be a member of ASABE.

The Boyd-Scott Graduate Research Award consists of a written competition, and an oral competition held during the ASABE Annual International Meeting. Judges will select three M.S. finalists and three Ph.D. finalists from the written competition who will then be invited to present their research before judges at a scheduled technical session held during the ASABE Annual International Meeting. The six finalists' meeting registration will be waived.

Cash prizes of $500, $300, and $200 will be awarded to the top three finishers in each category after the meeting.

Entry Form and include with paper entry.

2. Organization of Paper - Students are advised to adhere to the following guidelines when preparing their research paper entries:

a. Organization of the research paper must conform to the guidelines published by ASABE for refereed journals. Access the Author's Guide for information concerning Author's Guide and Journal Manuscript Submission & Formatting.

b. The entire research paper entry, including all figures, list of references and appendices, must not exceed 20 pages.

c. Some graphics (figures and tables) do not print or download well so students are encouraged to produce their graphics in black -and -white format.

3. Submit entry form and research paper as a PDF file. It is the entrant's responsibility to verify that the converted file appears as intended. Send to  the Awards Administrator

4. Scoring - Click here to see the judging criteria and allocation of points.

For the current competition, all entries must be submitted via e-mail to  the Awards Administrator by March 15th.